HHS Logo U.S. Department of Health & Human Services Divider arrow NIH logo National Institutes of Health Alt desc
Skip Over Navigation Links
NCATS Advisory Council

Council Roster

Christopher P. Austin, M.D.
National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, Maryland

Executive Secretary
Anna L. Ramsey-Ewing, Ph.D.
Director, Office of Grants Management and Scientific Review
National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, Maryland

Council Members*

(Terms end 9/30 of designated year, unless otherwise noted.)       

Margaret A. Anderson, M.A. (February 2017)
Executive Director
Center of the Milken Institute
Washington, D.C.

Jorge L. Contreras, J.D. (February 2017)
Associate Professor
S.J. Quinney College of Law
University of Utah
Adjunct Associate Professor
University of Utah School of Medicine
Salt Lake City, Utah

Louis J. DeGennaro, Ph.D. (February 2017)
President and Chief Executive Officer
Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
White Plains, New York

Geoffrey S. Ginsburg, M.D., Ph.D. (February 2017)
Director, Center for Applied Genomics and Precision Medicine
Duke University School of Medicine
Professor of Medicine and Pathology
Duke University Medical Center
Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Duke Pratt School of Engineering
Durham, North Carolina

Daniel L. Hartman, M.D. (2019)
Director of Integrated Development
Global Health Discovery Program
Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
Seattle, Washington

Eric D. Kodish, M.D. (February 2017)
F.J. O'Neill Professor
Director, Center for Ethics, Humanities and Spiritual Care
Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland, Ohio

Freda C. Lewis-Hall, M.D. ( February 2017)
Chief Medical Officer
New York, New York

Ankit A. Mahadevia, M.D., M.B.A. (February 2017)
Atlas Venture
Cambridge, Massachusetts

Bernard H. Munos, M.B.A. (February 2017)
InnoThink Center for Research in Biomedical Innovation
Indianapolis, Indiana

Megan O’Boyle (2019)
Principal Investigator
Phelan-McDermid Syndrome Data Network
Arlington, Virginia

Alan Palkowitz, Ph.D. (2019)
Vice President of Discovery Chemistry Research and Technologies
Lilly Research Laboratories
Indianapolis, Indiana

Harry P. Selker, M.D. (2018)
Executive Director
Institute for Clinical Research and Health Policy Studies
Tufts Medical Center
Clinical and Translational Science Institute
Tufts University School of Medicine
Boston, Massachusetts

Anantha Shekhar, M.D., Ph.D. (2018)
Director, Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute
Associate Dean for Translational Research
Raymond E. Houk Professor of Psychiatry
Professor of Pharmacology and Neurobiology
Associate Vice President for Research for University   Clinical Affairs
Indiana University
Indianapolis, Indiana

Robert I. Tepper, M.D. (February 2017)
Third Rock Ventures, LLC
Boston, Massachusetts

Scott J. Weir, Pharm.D., Ph.D. (February 2017)
Institute for Advancing Medical Innovation
University of Kansas Cancer Center
Kansas City, Kansas

Ex Officio Members

Department of Health and Human Services
Washington, D.C.

National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, Maryland

Food and Drug Administration
Silver Spring, Maryland

Representative for FDA Commissioner
Frank F. Weichold, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, Critical Path and Regulatory Initiatives, ORSI
Office of the Chief Scientist/OC
FDA at White Oak
Silver Spring, Maryland

National Science Foundation
S. Rao Kosaraju, Ph.D.
Director, Division of Computing and Communication Foundations
Arlington, Virginia

Department of Defense
Terry M. Rauch, M.P.H.
Director of Research & Development
Policy & Oversight Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense (Health Affairs)
U.S. Department of Defense
Falls Church, Virginia

Department of Veterans Affairs
David Atkins, M.D., M.P.H.
Health Services Research and Development
Washington, D.C.

Ad Hoc Members

Ronald J. Bartek
Co-Founder and Founding President
Friedreich's Ataxia Research Alliance (FARA)
Arlington, Virginia

Katharine Ku, M.S.
Executive Director
Office of Technology Licensing and the Industrial Contracts Office
Stanford University
Stanford, California

Richard E. Kuntz, M.D.
Senior Vice President and Chief Scientific Clinical and Regulatory Officer
Department of Neuromodulation
Medtronic, Inc.
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Geoffrey Shiu Fei Ling, M.D., Ph.D.
Department of Neurology
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences
Ellicott City, Maryland

Brad Margus
Chief Executive Officer
Cerevance, Inc.
Boston, Massachusetts

G. Lynn Marks, M.D.
Senior Vice President for Research and Development
Senior Clinical Advisor
Collegeville, Pennsylvania

Kalpana M. Merchant, Ph.D.
President and Chief Scientific Officer
TransThera Consulting Company
Portland, Oregon

Matthew Might, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
School of Computing
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, Utah

Valerie Montgomery Rice, M.D.
Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Office of the President and Dean
Morehouse School of Medicine
Atlanta, Georgia

Todd B. Sherer, Ph.D.
Chief Executive Officer
Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research
New York, New York

Stephen P. Spielberg, M.D., Ph.D.
Therapeutic Innovation and Regulatory Science
Upper Gwynedd, Pennsylvania

Sharon F. Terry, M.A.
President and Chief Executive Officer
Genetic Alliance
Washington, D.C.

Paul G. Yock, M.D.
Martha Meier Weiland Professor
Departments of Bioengineering and Medicine Program in Biodesign
Stanford University
Stanford, California

Members of the NCATS Advisory Council also serve on the Cures Acceleration Network Review Board.

Last updated: 05-15-2017
▲ Back to top